One Week

Happy one week birthday, Teddy Bear!

It’s hard to believe that it has already and only been one week since Teddy was born. Time both slowed down and sped up for the last 7 days. We haven’t done a whole lot other that work on some sort of routine that works for our boys but doesn’t affect B’s work hours too much. We haven’t been too successful yet but B hasn’t told me he’s worried yet so I’ll let it be for now.

B is a wonderful dad but I knew that already. He changes diapers (all of Ben’s since Monday since I’m on lift restrictions and can’t put him on the changing table plus many of Teddy’s), gets up with Ben in the morning, snuggles fussy newborns, encourages me when I’m feeling frustrated, and continues to work to financially support our family. I don’t know how I would do this without him!

Ben is adjusting as well as we could have hoped. He loves to give Teddy kisses and hugs and is more excited to see his “billy broller” in the morning than he is to see me. He is aggressively loving, as most toddlers are, so we don’t trust him alone with Teddy yet but it warms my heart to see them together. We try not to have Teddy in our laps all the time so there is space for Ben too. He has been acting out a bit this past week and intentionally disobeying us. Time out is pretty common! We can’t tell if he is acting out because of Teddy or because he still feels crappy from the cold or allergies that we’ve been fighting for a month. We haven’t had our mother’s helper over for the last week but I think she’ll be back next week to help us get back into a good daily rhythm.

Every once in a while, I forget that I recently gave birth but then I try to lift my leg up to put on a sock and have almost no muscle control in my lower body. I bought a Belly Bandit because I could remember how soft and vulnerable my stomach felt after delivering Ben and thought that an abdominal support band might help. I was right! I’m planning on writing more about this and other products that I’ve been loving this time around soon.

The second degree tear I got because of Teddy’s face-up orientation is much less swollen and seems to be healing well. I got a spray can of Dermoplast from the hospital and it was life changing for the first few days! It numbed the whole area and made it possible to sit comfortably. I’ve gone through an astonishing number of Tucks wipes as well but using them seems to be speeding along my healing. My stomach has shrunk a bunch and it is wonderful to be able to sleep however I want and be able to reach my feet. I went into the hospital at 152 lbs and was down to 135 when I weighed myself yesterday. I took 800 mg Ibuprofen for the first 5 days for the aches and pains plus headaches that I had forgotten are common for me in the first few weeks postpartum and have dropped down to 600 mg. I don’t think my postpartum bleeding has been as heavy this time as with Ben. I have hopes that I won’t be bleeding for 6 straight weeks this time. I’d totally be ok if it was shorter!

We’ve been very spoiled by our church and have meals lined up to be delivered every few days for our first two weeks at home. We’ve gotten several meals plus snacks for us and treats for Ben. Of all the things that I need to keep doing to keep the house from imploding; I’m glad that food (dinners and leftovers for lunch) are completely taken care of.

Teddy has figured out nursing with the nipple shield, for which I am thankful. I was in such excruciating pain for the first day of nursing every 2 hours without the shield and struggled with getting him properly latched on one side due to a flat nipple. The shield provides just enough of a buffer than the initial latch still makes me wince but I’m not bleeding or cracked yet. We will work on weaning off the shield in about a month or so when he has a stronger suck and I’m sufficiently toughened up. My milk came in earlier this time on day 3 instead of 5 so our boy has been getting fed a lot. Engorgement has been worse this time and uterine contractions caused by breastfeeding were excruciating for the first few days. My mom and other mothers of more than one child have agreed that they really do worsen with each baby. Great?

Teddy has settled into being part of the family very quickly. He actually slept and ate better once we got home from the hospital than before we were discharged. His circumcision is healing very well and we’re only a few days away from not having to cover it with gauze anymore. His umbilical cord stump is drying out, smells pretty gross, and is super close to falling off. I’m expecting to find it in his onesie when I change him overnight. When his belly button heals, we’ll be switching to cloth diapers. He loves boobs, soothie pacifiers (especially his Wubbanub), snuggling, being swaddled, pooping right when it’s most inconvenient for me (usually as soon as I put a clean diaper on), and taking naps. He is hard to keep awake while nursing but the upside is that he falls asleep quickly and deeply between feedings so I get to sleep too. In spite of his tendency to be a lazy eater, he weighed 7 lb 7 oz when we discharged from the hospital and still weighed 7 lb 7 oz when I took him to the pediatrician on Monday morning so I don’t need to push him any harder.

I fell asleep on the couch while watching The Avengers with B tonight and woke up to this photo set as my phone background. This is what it feels like to have a one week old!
IMG_5006

3 thoughts on “One Week

  1. I’ve been nervous bringing a new little person home but hearing how well your little family doing and seeing the photo of you and Teddy on the couch makes me wish February to come faster!

Leave a Reply

