40+3

A Day in the Life: Uncomfortably Overdue Edition

1:00 am: Ben had woken up at 11 pm and couldn’t fall back asleep without flipping out at B so we tucked him into bed with me and both of us passed out until B came to bed at 1. Ben didn’t want to be moved but it was over quickly. B told me later that Ben was talking in his sleep and tried to climb on top of me to avoid getting picked up.

4:12 am: Wake up to pee, am slightly excited about the 3 hour stretch of sleep until I got back to bed and couldn’t fall back asleep again. It takes at least 30 minutes.

6:20 am: I wake up from a crazy dream to B snoring. I hear noises from Ben’s room already but decide to leave him because maybe he’ll sleep some more?

6:47 am: Ben is definitely awake when I wake back up and check the monitor. Oh well, guess I didn’t need any more sleep either? I lay in bed and check my email and read a few blogs before attempting to sleep for a few more minutes. B is snoring and I’m annoyed. Baby keeps kicking internal organs and I’m uncomfortable.

7:34 am: I must have managed to sleep a little because I wake up to Ben creating chaos in his room. Decide to blog instead of get out of bed. Am too tired to function still.

7:50 am: I can’t tell what Ben has been doing in his room in the monitor so it’s time for me to intervene before his entire dresser is emptied into the floor. Maybe I’ll make us a big breakfast?

8:00 am: Ben had stashed some of his play dishes somewhere in his room and found them this morning. He’s never done that before so that’s why the sounds were so unfamiliar. Ben chatters constantly while I change his diaper and tell him that we’re going to have eggs and toast for breakfast. Eggs and toast are his favorite things to make in his kitchen so he runs into the living room to grab his supplies. He mimics a lot of what I do while making breakfast, right down to “cracking” his wood eggs on the counter.

8:15 am: Ben is settled in his chair with breakfast so I head down the hall to wake up B. He had forgotten we have a family chiro appointment this morning and needs to get up.

8:30 am: After a struggle and bribing Ben with more toast, I’ve successfully gotten Ben to eat most of his eggs. Last week, several other wives of WordPress developers and I started a chat group like our husbands have. There’s no reason why they should get to hang out during the day and we can’t! Two other wives are up while we eat breakfast, one with a 3 month old and one who is slightly less pregnant than I am, so I have adult company. B is finally up and I decide I have enough time to drink a cup of tea before leaving for the appointment.

9:00 am: I jump in the shower as B finishes his. Ben is watching a Baby Einstein show on my laptop from his room so B has enough time to eat breakfast and get Ben changed and dressed while I shower.

9:30 am: We leave for the chiropractor as we’re supposed to be there. Ah well. I’m hugely pregnant and it doesn’t really matter with the way our office runs.

10:00 am: Our whole family is done with adjustments and stretches. The chiro office is in the same parking lot as our local library and Ben has requested we stop. We have time so Ben and B walk to the library to use up some of that inextinguishable toddler energy while I answer a few text messages (friend’s wife wasn’t in labor yesterday, just a false alarm, and a few check-ins from my mom and good friend). Ben goes crazy in the library around so many books so it’s always nice to have B with me when we go. Ben picked out 4 new books (How Do Dinosaurs Say Happy Birthday, Little Pookie, My Dad is the Best Playground, and My First Baby Signs). We drive home with a very happy boy in the back seat.

10:30 am: Time to read books and play with the train station and garage. Since Ben is playing fairly independently, I pull out my computer to get some work done on tasks for the rental house. Of course, as soon as the computer shows up, Ben wants my undivided attention. I need to get this work taken care of today because our tenants lease is officially over so we turn on the Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh on Netflix in the living room while B continues his work in the family room. Ben splits his attention between the movie and his play dishes. I have a few moderately strong contractions while working on my computer but nothing monumental.

11:45 am: I start thinking about lunch. Ben has been napping poorly for the last few days so we’re trying to bump the beginning of nap forward about 15 minutes to give him more time to wind down and still sleep for 2 hours before waking at 3.

12:15 pm: Ben’s lunch of raisins and a two-slice-of-bread PB&J is ready so he starts eating and I clean up the kitchen a little. B moves to the kitchen table to be close by and I run downstairs to start a load of laundry. This is my last one before I’m completely caught up. Now baby can come, right?

12:30 pm: Ben has either eaten his sandwich or thrown the rest on the floor (B wasn’t watching too closely) so he’s officially done-done with lunch. I take him out and take him for a diaper change before nap. He still hasn’t pooped today so I’m anticipating a short nap due to a dirty diaper. I hate it when that happens!

12:45 pm: After reading through his library books and snuggling for a few minutes, Ben is in bed and fairly quiet. B started making our lunch while I was in with Ben so I get to sit down with a book.

1:00 pm: I can’t see Ben on the monitor so I go to check on him. Crap, he filled his diaper. Back to Baby Brother’s room for another diaper change. At least he did it before nap actually started? It takes about 15 more minutes and some fatherly discipline to get Ben to sleep but he does. Hooray!

1:30 pm: I fold and stuff clean diapers and decide it’s time to try some nipple stimulation to induce contractions. My OB told me that it’s one of the few ways to naturally induce labor (along with sex) that are scientifically based and have proven to work (at least, it works when your body is ready). I spend an hour with Netflix on my computer and using my breast pump one side at a time. I do get some strong contractions but they fizzle out after I stop pumping. I know it has done some good though because I tried for an hour before bed yesterday and I lost more mucus overnight. Even if I don’t go into labor, the contractions are making some progress.

3:00 pm: B is done with the meeting he had with our campus minister in the basement office so we catch up about what is going to happen later today. My mom called and offered to keep Ben overnight after my little sister K’s birthday party that we committed to attending so I could get more sleep tonight than last since there is a chance this will be my last night without a newborn. Three cheers for Grammy! I have no problem taking her up on that offer and while folding the (now dry) clean laundry, I set aside PJs and clothes for Ben.

4:30 pm: We decided to let Ben sleep as long as he wanted this afternoon but since we need to leave in 15 minutes or less, it is time to get him up. I also need to finish packing his overnight bag and gathering the rest of our essentials just in case I go into labor while we’re at the birthday party.

5:15 – 9:00 pm: Partying with my family! All but one of my siblings are here (she has a 6-9 pm college class) and we’re finally old enough to enjoy time together without fighting. Ben has fun playing with the special toys he only has at Grammy and Papa’s house. He eats close to nothing for dinner but mom reassures me that we all went through a phase around the same age where we didn’t want to eat anything and encourages me to stick with the basic rules like “no dessert if you don’t eat dinner” and “mom is not a short order cook.” B gives Ben a bath and we put him to bed, eat cake, and go home sans child. I’ve had a few contractions throughout the evening but no labor yet.

9:30 pm: Home again and I take care of the rest of Ben’s clean laundry, get ready for bed, noodle around on my phone for a while. I decide I’m too tired to try using the breast pump again today so I put it off until tomorrow morning.

10:30 pm: B has come in to pray, we coordinate schedule for tomorrow, and I turn off the lights. Goodnight! Hopefully I’ll sleep like a rock tonight.

Leave a Reply

