15 weeks

20140407-080314.jpg

I have decided that I’m not terribly fond of the early part of the second trimester. You start to feel better but you really can’t feel the baby move yet so there is little to reassure you that everything is ok.

Baby is about the size of an orange or apple (4 inches) this week, is wiggling all his/her limbs, reacts to light, and is practicing breathing. An orange-size baby seems big and I’m glad he/she is getting up there in size.

I think I’ve felt the baby move a few times but at this early stage, it’s hard to distinguish between gas bubbles and kicks. I’ve had more round ligament pain with this baby than I ever did with Ben. The ups and downs of my digestive system are starting to drive me crazy. I am either constipated or very much not, nothing in between! I was brave enough a few days ago to stop taking my antinausea meds and have done ok. I did lose part of my lunch yesterday but it wasn’t the worst I’ve experienced. Stopping unisom has caused a few roughy nights of sleep but I’m sure that will even out after a while when my body isn’t relying on help getting and staying asleep.

I don’t go back to the OB until next week and it feels like forever! I can’t believe we’re at the point where we will schedule our anatomy scan but when I look at my profile in a mirror, I can definitely tell that there is a baby there!

>

Leave a Reply

