Help and Advice Needed

A few months ago, I was invited to speak at a women’s event hosted by the campus ministry that B works for. The organizer told me their theme for the evening was “transition” and asked me to speak about my experiences with a transition in my life.

Obviously, my life has changed considerably since I was in college but I couldn’t pinpoint one particular moment to speak about. Instead, I started thinking about our marriage and journey to becoming parents, especially our two babies that we didn’t get to meet. It might be a bit of a stretch but I am going to share our story for the first time in the context of “faith during crisis” or “how do you keep it together when everything is falling apart.” I’m scared of putting everything out in the open but I know that I am not doing these young women any sort of service but keeping these experiences to myself. They might not face the same set of crises or disappointments that we have but it is guaranteed that someone will lose a job they love, someone will suffer through losing a loved one, and some will walk alongside someone who is sick.

This is where you come in. I know I can speak for hours about how I felt and how I coped and how God has blessed me in the midst of struggling but I wanted to ask other women as well. What Bible verses spoke to you while you were struggling with crushing disappointment? Did you find a quite from a devotional book particularly encouraging? Between all of us, I know there is enough experience to fill books.

One thought on “Help and Advice Needed

  1. What a great opportunity!

    When I was at my lowest, I always found it best to fall back on the story of Job. That story always reminds me how it’s not my job to question my circumstances but to simply trust in His promises and believe He will come through. Moreover, it taught me that our circumstances are not always about us. That sometimes things happen and we will never know the reason. It helped me come to terms with the phrase “peace that passes understanding.”

    Other great things that I cling to include this one Beth Moore study on the fruits of the spirit…somewhere in there, there was a little bit about how God does not punish us for our sins like He did in the old testament. We were redeemed and it’s critical to remember that gift. That was something I struggled with for a long time. I thought the reason I wasn’t getting what I wanted was because of things I had done. But it’s so human to think that way and it’s not how God works. The study was called Living Beyond Yourself.

    Finally, I will say until I die that the book “The Shack” changed my life forever. It’s another great Job-type story about letting go of hate to grow closer to Jesus. Good stuff.

    Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

