Mourning Amid the Excitement

In the middle of all the joy and excitement of Christmas, I was surprised to get a phone call early yesterday morning from my mom. She asked if I had been on Facebook yet (no) and told me that my cousin S’s house burned down overnight. A and his roommates are all fine but S’s dog was trapped and didn’t make it out.

It is hard to think about the excesses of most Christmas gatherings when someone I love has only the clothes on his back and the car he was driving when he got home and discovered the fire. His dog was his baby, he even signed his Christmas cards with her name.

I haven’t lost a pet like this and I’m sure the pain is horrible but I have known loss and know that the pain fades. Still, we got a healthy dose of reality during a very celebratory time of year.

One thought on “Mourning Amid the Excitement

Leave a Reply

