10 Weeks and Prayers

I had my first appointment of this pregnancy with the nurse at my OB practice this afternoon. I got blood drawn, peed in a cup, was talked to about general pregnancy restrictions and updated my personal and family health history. I asked the nurse if she would pretty please do a Doppler check for heartbeat tones before I left. She agreed but told me that it is completely possible that we wouldn’t hear them, even though we had no problem finding Ben at that stage.

She looked and looked and the only thing she found was the round ligament on my left side which almost made me jump off the table in pain. The rational part of my brain says that not finding the heartbeat isn’t that big of a deal because it’s just as like we wouldn’t hear it as we would. The other part of my brain is panicking because THERE WASN’T A HEARTBEAT! The nurse’s hunch was that my uterus is slightly tilted and it’s possible the ligament pain kept her from looking thoroughly enough on my left side. Normally, if the nurse can’t find the heartbeat with the doppler, the doctor in the office that day does a quick transvaginal ultrasound to make sure that everything really is ok and that the mom isn’t losing her mind. Unfortunately, there wasn’t a doctor in the office today.

I was reassured that everything should be fine and told to come back in 2 weeks for my 12 week appointment with the OB but I really don’t think I can wait that long. I called the nurse after I left and she suggested that she talk to the doc in the morning to see what she suggests. I’m praying that I do get called in for a last minute ultrasound just to put my mind at ease or we try something else to help me relax. We’ll see what tomorrow brings :/

One thought on “10 Weeks and Prayers

Leave a Reply

