A Day in the Life, 6 Month Edition

I thought it would be interesting to write a “day in the life” post at 6 months, both for you readers as well as for my reference down the road when I can’t figure out why Ben’s future sibling isn’t sleeping anymore.

5:00 – 6:30 AM: Wake up- Ben’s wake up time varies and I really, really hate 5 AM. If he wakes up at 5 and it’s been more than an hour since he last ate, I’ll snuggle him in bed next to me and feed him again, praying that he drifts off to sleep for at least another hour. He does about 50% of the time. For the other 50%, he is wide awake and wants nothing to do with sleep so I drag myself out of bed. For the sake of this walk through, we’ll pretend he slept “in” until 6:30.

This baby is much sleepier than the one in our room at 6 AM

This baby is much sleepier than the one in our room at 6 AM

Diaper Change: I’ve given up on changing diapers overnight because it wakes him up to where he can’t fall back asleep so the morning diaper change is a top priority. I get rid of the nasty diaper, pop him back in his pjs and we shuffle to the living room.

6:45 – 9:30: Play time- When we get to the living room, Ben is already twisting around and lunging toward his play gym. I set him down, drop my phone off by the couch and go get myself some breakfast (tea and breakfast bar or slimfast-esq shake drink). I check emails, blogs, twitter, news, weather, our bank account, or pay bills on the couch while Ben happily plays by himself on the floor. If the night before was a diaper washing night, I grab the clean diapers from the laundry room and fold/stuff them while Ben plays. He gets tired of this by 7:30 or so and it’s time for a change. Sometimes we snuggle on the couch and read or he watches me do surveys or surf Pinterest and chat. The kid loves the computer screen so this buys me about 15 more minutes of happiness. Other times I’ll throw a blanket on the floor and we’ll tickle wrestle, have tummy time, and play with toys. If Ben woke up really early, I usually can’t make it until his nap time for a nap so I wake B up and he takes a turn playing with Ben while I jump back in bed for another hour of sleep. Sometime before his nap at 9:30 he gets another feeding and a diaper change.

Ben has finally learned to roll and flops all over

Ben has finally learned to roll and flops all over and often gets stuck between the legs of his gym

9:30 – 11:30: Nap time- Naps aren’t always 2 hours but that’s what I hope for every morning. Now that he is napping every 3 hours instead of 1.5 hours, naps have gotten significantly longer. Most are at least 1.5 hours. Morning nap time is my time to write blog posts, clean the kitchen, start laundry, shower, plan out any errands that need to be done during the day, and check on B’s schedule. B works from the basement so we powwow a few times a day to touch base and figure out anything that he might need done but Ben and I generally leave B alone to focus on work. The more we pester him during the day, the later he has to work in the evening and I’m always ready for him to be done before he’s able to quit!

11:30 – 12:30: Errands and Activities- Ben wakes up from his nap, smiling and ready to go. He might need a feeding or a diaper change, depending on when he last had them. I’m showered and dressed and have already figured out if we need to run errands. If we are leaving the house, I’ll grab a quick snack for me and plop Ben in his car seat and carry him out to the car. Pre-lunch is prime grocery getting time so we may be off to Aldi, Meijer or Target, depending on the day. I’m getting hungry and Ben is tired of being in his car seat (can’t sit up in a shopping cart yet) so we go as quickly as we can while still enjoying the novelty of being out of the house.

All bundled up and ready to run errands!

All bundled up and ready to run errands!

12:30 – 1:30: Lunch- I greet B as we walk in the door and give him options for lunch, usually leftovers, quesadillas or sandwiches. Ben goes in his high chair with some toys so I can put away groceries and get lunch ready. We have been giving him pureed baby food at either lunch or dinner but he pretty much hates it. I did some research on baby-led weaning and we really liked what we read. I bought some baby friendly first foods at the store today (banana, avocado, puffs, and graham crackers) so I cut up a banana and give Ben 1/3 of that instead of sitting down with a jar and spoon. There is much less yelling (Ben) and frustration (us) with the banana than with the purees so it looks like we have a new plan. B and I finish our lunch so I clean up the kitchen while Ben plays in the living room until nap time. Ben also nurses again.

Nom, nom, nom banana!

Nom, nom, nom banana!

IMG_0010

Eating a banana in the mesh feeder

2:00 – 3:30: Nap time- Afternoon nap is usually shorter than the morning nap but no less necessary. I try to give myself a few special chores every week like dusting and reorganizing the book shelves, washing the cat beds, or washing and rehemming curtains. Afternoon nap time is a good time to get going on those things. If I am running around the house, I have the monitor clipped onto my pants so I can hear Ben when he wakes up. For some reason, his afternoon sleep is much more disturbed with more wake ups than the morning. I know he isn’t ready to get up when he wakes up crying, trying to find his pacifier. Today I’m reading instead of doing more around the house because I need some rest time too.

3:30 – 5:30/6:00: More play time and dinner prep- Ben wakes up from his nap happy again so he is unwrapped from his swaddle blanket and taken out of his crib. I try to have a dinner plan by afternoon nap so I can do any extra veggie chopping or get meat out to thaw while Ben is sleeping. If the weather is nice, we go for a walk to the library or just around the neighborhood. Winter has been lingering in our neck of the woods so we have only gotten to play outside a few times. Sometimes we go visit my parents (Grammy and Grampy), my grandparents, other friends with babies, or go walk around the mall just to get out of the house. Most of the time, we get another feeding in during this time.

IMG_0006

Sitting in the Bumbo and trying to pull his sock off. Guess who discovered that he has feet?!

IMG_0005

Ben always wants to hold more rings than he has hands

IMG_0001

Staring Contest with Mowgli

IMG_0002

If I need Ben off the floor for vacuuming, he loves to play in his crib

IMG_0004

Yes, he is almost always this happy

5:30/6:00: B “comes home” from work and Ben gets very important daddy play time. B and Ben wrestle, snuggle, play video games, play toys, read books, or just lay on the floor and talk to each other. My heart melts a little every evening! I get to hit the kitchen solo and get dinner ready. My goal is always to have dinner finished simmering, baking, or roasting at 7, right after Ben is in bed.

Reading before bed

Reading before bed

6:30: Bath time- Ben gets a bath about every other day during the week or as often as needed after smearing food in his ears and through his hair. One of us strips the baby and the other gets the bath ready. Since Ben has outgrown his baby bathtub but can’t sit up by himself yet, I’ve gotten into the habit of getting into the tub with him and resting him on my legs while he plays. He LOVES splashing in the bath. The cats have learned to keep their distance because if they sit on the edge of the tub, they will get wet!

Mowgli is always excited to participate in bathtime

Mowgli is always excited to participate in bath time

6:45: After washing Ben and letting him play in the tub for a while, I hand him over to B who dries him off, puts on lotion, a diaper, pjs and a swaddle blanket. I get dressed and ready to feed Ben. B brings Ben to me in his room, I feed him and carry him off to bed.

Ben fell asleep during his bedtime feeding. Today was tiring!

Ben fell asleep during his bedtime feeding. Today was tiring!

7:00 – 8:30/9:00: Dinner and entertainment- B and I sit down to dinner and usually watch an episode of our Netflix tv show of the week. It’s nice to sit and relax together for a while. I pick up the minimum of dinner stuff and stack everything to be washed the next morning. I wash diapers every third evening so if tonight is a diaper washing night, I put the load of dirty diapers in for a rinse cycle (cold rinse, vinegar added) and then wash cycle (laundry soap, heavy soil, presoak, extra rinse on hot). I’m usually exhausted by 9:00 so my goal is to have the diapers done washing between 9:00 and 9:30 so I can hang the covers and throw the inserts into the dryer before bed.

9:30: Bed time- Diapers are done so I can wash up and go to bed. I generally check email, twitter, blogs, and news one more time from bed and make sure my Bible reading is done for the day (I’m reading through an annual reading plan on the YouVersion Bible app). If Ben wakes up fussing, he might earn himself an extra feeding before I fall asleep but we haven’t noticed that he sleeps longer if he gets this feeding so I don’t make a point to wake him up to eat.

Sleepy, snuggly Benny-baby

Sleepy, snuggly Benny-baby

10:00- Lights out, if they aren’t already. B is usually reading in bed so we pray together and I pass out.

Overnight: If I’m lucky, Ben only wakes up twice to eat overnight. If I’m not lucky, he is up hourly. He’s been doing better this week and only waking up between 2:00 and 3:00 and then 2 hours after that first wake up.

Then the whole thing starts over again! Honestly, this typical schedule doesn’t happen very often. We have to adjust naps to go to appointments. We travel somewhere and Ben sleeps in the car. Even the weekend changes things since we like to do things as a family. Ben likes to throw us curveballs so no two days are the same!

Leave a Reply

