2 Months

Ben had his two month pediatrician appointment this week. He weighed 11 pounds 6 1/2 ounces and was 23 1/4 inches long. That puts him in the 25th percentile for weight but 75th percentile for height. He is one long, skinny, little boy! He holds his head up very well. The doctor had helped him to sit on the exam table and he was able to hold his head up the whole time. He also loved the crinkly paper on table.

The bad part about the two month appointment is he had to get more shots. He got three shots, two in his left leg and one in his right and also had to take one vaccine orally. He did not start crying until after the first shot as if to say that he did not appreciate having two in one leg. The nurse was very fast though so it was over very quickly. He calmed down in about five minutes and slept the whole way home. It wasn’t until about five hours later that his leg was red, warm, and swollen and he was extremely fussy. He normally calms down for me very quickly but he screamed and screamed for about 20 minutes. I sent B to the store to buy some baby Tylenol that I stupidly did not have on hand before the appointment. It only took one dose before he was feeling more like his happy, smiley self. To remember for next time: give Ben Tylenol before the appointment!

It turns out that I might not be a full-time stay-at-home mom either. My office called on Monday morning to offer me extremely limited part-time work for as long as it takes to train a replacement. My guess is that this will take about 6 to 8 weeks. If I work a minimum of eight hours a week, I will not have to reimburse my work for my health insurance premiums. This will essentially save us $3000! As much as I do not want to go back to work at all, my mom will be very excited to spend two days a week with Ben and saving that much money in one shot is an answer to prayer. They know that I will not be working part-time for very long. My boss told me right out on the phone that I could feel free to quit when I needed to. So, it looks like I might be going back to work in early December.

Leave a Reply

