6 Weeks In

Here we are, already 6 weeks postpartum! I had my follow up OB appointment on Tuesday. I’ve dropped about 30 lbs since Ben was born so I’m moving a lot more easily now. My stitches already almost healed so I haven’t gotten the to ahead for sex yet but considering that I just had a baby, I’m not too concerned about that. The doctor estimated another 2 weeks before I’m completely healed. It was very odd to walk out of the appointment without having to schedule another.

Because I had the appointment this week, B and I had to talk about our game plan for baby #2 and what kind of birth control we want to use until then. It is strange to think about birth control again since its been almost 3 years since we’ve used any. We decided that yes, we want more kids, and we’d like the first two to be relatively close together so they have a playmate. We are guessing it will take a few months to get pregnant again since we’ll probably follow the same clomid route as this time and I don’t want to be pregnant over the summer again so we’ll shoot for starting again when Ben is about 9 months old. Until then, my doctor put me on the progesterone only mini-pill which is most effective while breast feeding. I haven’t done well with hormonal birth control in the past but so far, so good. We thought about going without any sort of medical birth control since it takes a miracle and a prayer for us to get pregnant in the first place but I don’t want to run the risk of conceiving when my uterine lining isn’t ready for a baby and miscarrying again.

Ben is eating like a champ and growing like a weed. He’s up to 10 lbs and is tall enough that he is outgrowing the head stabilizer in his car seat. Just this week I started weaning him off using the nipple shield while nursing. He’s getting the hang of latching on correctly so almost every feeding during the day we can go without it. My nipples are now getting the abuse that most women get at the beginning and I wonder if I’ve made it worse by starting with an older baby with a stronger latch and harder suck? We still use the shield at night both to give me a break and since his first night feeding is about 5 hours into the night, my breasts are pretty swollen and he has a hard time latching. If we can’t get over that hump within the next few weeks on our own, I’m planning on working with the lactation consultant at Ben’s pediatrician’s office.

He is wearing 0-3 month clothes with a few Circo newborn outfits and a few smaller 3 month outfits thrown in. We have been battling a very stubborn diaper rash so we’ve been using disposable diapers at night but still cloth during the day. Ben is big enough to fit into his BumGenius and FuzzyBuns one size pocket diapers so we’ve been mixing them in with our normal prefold-snappi-cover routine. I think I almost prefer the pockets because they do a better job of keeping moisture away from his skin. What I don’t like is the price. Who wants to spend $17 per diaper? I’ll be buying more eventually so by the time he’s out of his size small prefolds, we can almost exclusively use pockets but I’ll wait for a sale. Until the diaper rash clears up, we are using microfleece liners in his prefolds to keep him drier.

Everyone always asks if he is sleeping through the night yet. He isn’t but we’re working in that direction! Just this week, he’s cut down nighttime feedings from 3 (2, 4, and 6 AM) to just 2 (4-5 and 8 AM). I got an uninterrupted 5 hours of sleep last night for the first time since August. It felt amazing! I do have a sleep training book that we’re planning on using and once I read it and use the techniques, I’ll let you know how it works.

No, I haven’t actually quit my job yet. They threw a shower for me yesterday which makes me feel awful about quitting since they all said they want me back but as much as I like my coworkers, I didn’t enjoy the work I was doing. If I don’t quit, I’ll feel bad for missing time with Ben. Since at this point we can afford me staying home, I am going to take advantage of that.

B’s new job is going great. He’s been there for almost 4 months and still loves it. One exciting new happening is that his boss (the co-owner of the company) wants to buy the website software that B has developed on the side. If they offer what we’ve asked for it, we can be completely debt free by Christmas! Since we thought it would be another year or two before we reached that point, this is a huge blessing! Paying off our remaining student loans will free up around $800 per month. If all this falls into place, we’re hoping to take Ben to Disney for the first time when he is around 6 months old.

How are you all doing?

One thought on “6 Weeks In

  1. Yay for everything going well for you, and for Ben growing and eating well, and starting to sleep a little longer šŸ™‚

    I’m very intrigued by how your birth control goes…this has always been something I’ve worried and wondered about….which method is best when waiting for baby #2? I hope your mini-pill does well and I’m curious to know if you have any issues with it.

    Good luck with everything, my dear!

Leave a Reply

