34 Weeks

34 weeks and BBQ is the size and heft of a cantaloupe (slightly under 5 lbs). I’m definitely feeling it too. Sometimes it feels like he is doing the splits and pushing my hip bones in opposite directions! All of a sudden, 6 weeks doesn’t sound like enough time. One of my coworkers reminded me that during her first pregnancy, at 34 weeks she was only 2 1/12 weeks away from giving birth! Whoa, really soon!

I’m feeling pretty large and slow. I waddle everywhere now and it’s pretty typical for me to not be able to wear shoes by the end of the day. I’m completely convinced that none of my shoes will fit again until after BBQ gets here. Hopefully it will stay warm long enough into September so I can just wear sandals for the next 6 weeks.

B and I did a maternity photoshoot on Sunday. We went out to a local park and took pictures for about an hour. I have been collecting maternity photo ideas on Pinterest and picked a handful of props to use. I bought 12 blue latex balloons, a small pair of red Converse lowtops (B’s signature look through high school and college), a 12×12 photo frame I recently finished painting to match the nursery, wood blocks to spell out his still secret first name, and the infant Mickey ears hat we bought in Disney World back in May. I’m hoping that B gets a chance to edit them next week after his conference is over next weekend.

Mom and I worked on the curtains on Saturday for about 5 hours. We have 2 completely sewn panels, one panel that is pinned together and one that we somehow messed up big time. We couldn’t figure out any combination of cuts that we made that would have gotten the piece 13 inches too short but that’s how it ended up. Thankfully, I had a big enough spare piece of fabric for Mom to fix it. After I stencil the panel, you’ll never notice that it was pieced together.

B spend the same amount of time on Saturday installing the baseboards in the kitchen/eating area/hallway/entry. I taped all the vertical edges on Sunday and am slowly working on caulking everything this week. I hope to be done by the weekend but can’t promise much. Either way, just having the trim attached to the walls and the transition pieces in place makes a HUGE difference. I can’t wait to see the finished product!

My friend recommended a new app called Water Your Body and for the low-low price of .99 cents, I now get reminders 4 times a day to drink water. It measures my accomplishments and grades my progress. The ideal number is based on my weight plus a variety of lifestyle choices, including pregnancy. Hopefully, I have enough of perfectionist left in me to keep from getting an F every day!

Leave a Reply

