28 Weeks

Welcome to the third trimester (already)! It’s hard to believe in less than 3 months, I’ll get to meet this squirmy child of mine.

Week 28 was interesting for a variety of reasons, one of which was because the 4th of July landed on Wednesday this year. My parents made plans long ago to take younger sister R to China, her birth country, with a tour group that specialized in homeland tours for adopted kids and we know they’d be gone over the 4th. My older brother and sister-in-law moved into my parents house to watch the dogs and little sister K but didn’t have flexible enough work schedules to stay home with her the two Mondays they would be gone. Since I agreed to watch K on Monday, it made sense to take Tuesday off work since the office was closed Wednesday. I had a 5 day stay-cation!

We had grand plans of doing awesome things like going to the water park or the zoo but since it was 95+ degrees each day, we opted to stay home in the air conditioning. My very swollen feet and ankles thanked me! Even K, after trying to play with bubbles outside, agreed it was too hot to play at the beach and the heat would probably make BBQ sick. Since we wanted to stay indoors, we made craft projects, played Little People, bought a volume of Duck Tales on DVD and watched many episodes, went to the library, and played with the cats. I also had a chance to catch up on chores like laundry and painting the kitchen window trim.

My three days at home went really well. I thought I would be bored if I wasn’t working all the time but I’m starting to see that I’ll enjoy having time during the day to run errands and get things done around the house instead of cramming them all into my few post-work hours.

This was B’s second to last week at his current job but has started working in the evenings and on weekends for the new company. He hopes to earn enough to buy himself a new computer sooner rather than later since when he finishes with the current job on the 13th, he has to ship his laptop back to the office. So far, he is loving the new job and gets really excited to work on those projects but I miss hanging out with him at night.

Speaking of projects, we’ve started cutting the baseboards for the kitchen, eating area, entry and hallway to the bedrooms. The pieces aren’t even nailed in yet but they look so good! Our plan is to cut the baseboards and base shoe to size and then borrow a finishing nail gun to install everything in an afternoon. Then I get to fill nail holes, patch up paint and caulk all the seams. Yay!

To finish things off with a bang, here’s a new photo! It’s not very flattering or accurate since I’m bending over a little to take it. I’m definitely bigger than what that photo shows off!

28 Weeks

One thought on “28 Weeks

Leave a Reply

