8 Weeks

You don’t have to remind me how blessed we are to make it to 8 weeks in this pregnancy. We know; we praise God every day for this miracle.

I’m actually feeling pretty good right now. As more time goes on, I am more and more convinced that what I felt last weekend was more flu than morning sickness. The nausea only hits me now when my stomach is empty. I have to watch that I don’t go too long between meals.

This is so much different than my attitude toward eating any other time in my life. I love snacking, so much so that I have gained about 15 lbs in the last few years since I started my full time job. There is nothing like sitting at a desk for 8 hours a day to make you want to always have a snack at hand. I’ve been working for the last year to eat breakfast, lunch, a healthy mid-afternoon snack, and dinner at home, all with more whole food ingredients than processed.

Now, all that has changed. I can sense my attitude and stomach turning as soon as I hit the 2 hour mark since my last meal. I never want homemade soup, bread, or vegetables (except the rare occasion this week when I wanted carrots). I crave salt and quickly prepared foods. I have lived off ramen, microwave soup, and mac and cheese for the last week. Today, I had an egg and toast for breakfast, giant pretzel at the mall, piece of pizza for lunch, Dr. Pepper float (I know, strange right?), and beef jerky.  Good food and cooking is so important to me that feeling sick as soon as I walk into my kitchen is a huge disappointment. I’m praying the constantly starving time of the second trimester will come soon.

I had to return a coat to Kohl’s this morning and noticed about 6 80% off clothes racks in the baby and toddler area. How could I pass that up? We’re having a fall baby and by the end of September in Michigan, it can be really cold. All the clothes were fleece sleepers, sweatshirts, fleece pants, and a few Christmas outfits thrown in for good measure. I bought a light blue Winnie the Pooh sleeper, a sleeper covered with jungle animals, a snowsuit with reindeer antlers on the hood, a 3-piece snowman print set (onesie, bib and pants), a velour, candy cane striped baby’s first Christmas sleeper with a reindeer face on the bum, a set of 6 socks, and a blanket-bear hybrid toy. For all this, I paid $27! I hate paying full price for clothes int the first place so this made me exceedingly happy. Nothing cost over $4.80! It’s not necessary to be buying baby clothes right now but darn it, I can’t walk away from that kind of deal!

I found my first awesome baby-related craigslist score this week. I had been eyeing the Arm’s Reach Co-sleepers (they snuggle right up to the bed!) but couldn’t stomach the $160-ish price tag. I have a craigslist app on my phone that runs automated searches for me so if a certain item I’m looking for is posted, I will get notified right away. I was able to get the Arm’s Reach Co-sleeper Mini Convertible plus three sets of sheets for $50, a solid savings of at least $140!

I’m still tired all the time so on the weekends, I try to get things done in the morning. I had grand plans of cleaning the craft room/nursery, patching up scratched paint in the hall, and hanging some frames. After getting back from my morning errands, I crashed. I spent the rest of the day napping on the couch while B played video games. My goal is to make it to my sign language class on Tuesday after work. If I can get that done, I will be pretty pleased with myself.

Tuesday is also Valentine’s Day but since I have about 5 overlapping meetings to tire me out during the day, class after work and B has the weekly meeting with the college campus ministry, I doubt our day will be very romantic. I may try to make something while he is gone in the evening to surprise him. I have an empty 8×10 frame that needs filling so maybe I’ll find a simple printable artwork to fill it with and perhaps make some heart shaped rice krispy treats (his favorite dessert). We’ll see how the day goes, I suppose!

2 thoughts on “8 Weeks

  1. congrats on the pregnancy! it’s scary for the first couple of months, isn’t it? sounds like you got some good deals, where in michigan do you live? i am in michigan too.

Leave a Reply

