So Far, So Good

So far, so good! I’m still feeling crampy but from what I’ve read, that doesn’t necessarily mean anything is wrong. Spotting and cramping would be bad. I don’t know how long I can expect the cramping to last so if anyone has an idea, drop it on me! I’ve been drinking a TON of water, which is supposed to help. I don’t know if it lessens the cramps or if I always have to pee so badly I can’t pay attention to anything else.

I remembered a few days ago, when I was on the phone with my best friend K, that my OB had suggested way back in July that the next time we got pregnant, that he wanted to put me on progesterone. Progesterone supplements during a high risk pregnancy prevents the uterine layer from shedding (which, of course, would mean miscarriage). I was expecting pills but it’s actually a gel… suppository. You have to put it… in. Not what I expected. It’s not bad though. Much better than a regular tampon. The side effects are supposed to include moodiness (can’t be worse than clomid), headaches (I already get those), and nausea (at almost 5 weeks, that is to be expected). I have to take it through the end of the first trimester.
We’re thrilled my doctor is willing to give it to me after only 1 miscarriage instead of the typical 3. We are also very happy we have health insurance. The no insurance price listed on the prescription was $524.00!

5 thoughts on “So Far, So Good

  1. Keep us posted on the progesterone supplements. I’m anticipating having to take them next time round myself. What’s the dose that you are following? Do you insert at night or morning?

  2. Me again… what was your BD plan while on clomid this past month? Did you use OPKs or just charting? Would absolutely love to hear your advice. I just ordered some pre-seed too. Hoping it arrives in time.

    • Thanks for the questions! I’m using the progesterone in the AM. I’m at work and can’t remember the dose but the website says Crinone gel 8%. Our plan for last month was…. Have lots of sex (husband approved plan). Because I ovulated several days later than normal, we had no idea what put timing was going to be. It ended up being the night before the smiley opk and the night after. Hope that helps and good luck!

  3. Awesomeness. I really appreciate you sharing. I bought the pre-seed online because it’s not avail. at retail in Canada. Should arrive quickly. I like the plan and pretty my husband will be down with that approach too. Have an awesome weekend and thanks again!!!

Leave a Reply

