Counting Days

When I was growing up, my family would take a two week road trip every summer. All 6 of us (at that point) would cram into our old minivan and drive to see something unique and wonderful about a historic site or natural wonder. My favorite part was when I got a chance to ride shotgun. My dad taught me to navigate and my love of maps was born.

One of the things I loved about the atlas was that every highway was marked with exit numbers and other mile markers. I would spend hours checking the numbers flashing by on the side of the road with the little marks on the atlas in my lap. As much as I loved seeing our progress down the road, watching for mile markers made time go even slower. All I could think about was that next number and how much closer to our destination we would be when we finally crossed that invisible line. My parents reminded me that as soon as I forgot the mile markers and start reading, playing games, or listening to music, the day in the car would fly by. Turns out, they were right.

I tend to look for landmarks or some way to measure time. Lately this has been through things like Provera Day 7 (today), TTC Day 221 (also today-ish, this one is less precise), cycle day x (47?). I get caught up in numbers and counting and suddenly the days starting crawling by at a snail’s pace. Once I look beyond the number of the day and pay attention to other things that bring me joy, the days speed past.

I choose to have fun, to play games with my husband, to go to bed early, just so I can read one last chapter of a book in comfort. I choose to do all these things today.

Leave a Reply

