Newbie

We are, in very many ways, newbies to this strange, complicated, stressful, acronym-ridden world of infertility. I’ll try explain the story of how our family of 2 arrived at the point where we wanted more than just us and how this turned into what I like to call our “lack-of-family” problem.

To keep it short and sweet, my cycle has always been terribly irregular which wasn’t a bad thing growing because, hey, 3 periods a year is awesome! It want until my husbino and I reached the TTC stage where we realized that crazy cycles mean unpredictable ovulation which complicates conception exponentially.

I talked to my doctor, who was awesome about the whole think. She has been very encouraging and was sure that we were very treatable with Clomid if Husbino’s sperm count came back good. Of course it didn’t! Is anything that simple? The count was VERY low and VERY slow.

Husbino has been out of town for the week after getting the referral to see a urologist so this is where we have to wait. I’m a ball of anxiety about the whole situation, bursting into tears whenever I see anyone announce their pregnant on Facebook (stupid Facebook!) or thinking about how our spare bedrooms might never get filled with babies and diapers and toys.

I needed to talk to someone about this, if only for cathartic reasons only. One close friend of mine is struggling with a different type of conception issue but it can’t be the only thing we talk about. We DO have other common interests. I stumbled across the community of women gathered by Mel at http://www.stirrup-queens.com and felt a strong pull to become one of them. I needed a place to express my fear, frustration, hopes and worries annonymously and so we’ve arrived here.

If you have found me, welcome. It’s good to have someone to talk to. If I’m writing for myself, I’m equally content.

Leave a Reply

